Cleverly Tells MPs 'Do Not Be Manipulated'

TBG has been doing some number crunching overnight and will be mightily surprised if Boris wins today.

Even if, as we suspect, a number of MPs bottle opposing Boris, it would still take up to twenty Labour MPs in Leave areas to save the day.

TBG understands that Guto Bebb, Dominic Grieve, Antoniette Sandbach, Alistair Burt, Rory Stewart, Justine Greening, Caroline Nokes, Phil Hammond, Ken Clarke, David Gauke, Margot James, Richard Harrington and Oliver Letwin are all against but that Stephen Hammond, Steve Brine, Ed Vaizey, Greg Clark, Nicholas Soames, Anne Milton, Sam Gyimah, Phillip Lee and David Liddington are still undecided.

The bill, which has now been published by Labour MP Hilary Benn, is an attempt to force the PM to request a Brexit delay to 31 January 2020 unless MPs had approved a new deal, or voted in favour of a no deal departure, by 19 October.

Conservative Party Chairman James Cleverly, who is holding a conference call with all Tory Association Chair's today, told TBG:

“Labour, the Lib Dems, And the SNP, are not trying to stop a no-deal Brexit.”

“Labour, the Lib Dem’s, And the SNP are trying to stop Brexit completely.”

“The EU won’t agree a deal at 17 October summit if the deadline is delayed again.”

“Conservative MPs who want a deal should not be manipulated by Hilary Benn into undermining our negotiators.”